Shed of the year 2024, Sponsored by Cuprinol, Sponsors Shed of the year
Exterior of shed - The Teapot , Scottish Borders Wndow and Lid of shed - The Teapot , Scottish Borders Steps in the handle of shed - The Teapot , Scottish Borders Spout drawbridge of shed - The Teapot , Scottish Borders Upstairs summer house of shed - The Teapot , Scottish Borders Teapot lid, hub and winder of shed - The Teapot , Scottish Borders

The Teapot

  • Surprise Me
    • More than £500
    All photos are copyright sheddie Ian Kirkby Edit your shed
    Sign up for the latest Shed news

    Shed Features

    The teapot is a large two-storey shed located near Melrose in the Scottish Borders. It is 21ft in diameter and built as a drying shed for timber on the ground level with a summer house sited above on the upper level accessed by steps through the handle. A concealed gangway door in the spout provides access to the lower level.

    Other Shed info

    The design and construction makes extensive use of reclaimed materials. The main ground level structure is built on a ring of twelve recycled telegraph poles with an additional central pole extending up the full height of the teapot. The domed shape comes about by the use of old poly-tunnel tubing for the framework of the teapot on the upper level. A hub at the top of the central telegraph pole is used to bring all the tubing together. Curved cuts of timber sourced from a nearby mill have been secured to the poles and tubing to create a fully cladded exterior. The lid of the teapot, topped with an old fishing buoy, can be opened and shut by winding a reworked old hand drill creating a special open-air experience for those summer nights in the woods.

    Your Shed company here?

    View all entrants


    Behind the Shed Newsletter

    Sign Up to Behind the shed newsletter here

    Thank you Sheddies

    If you like what we do, why not support readersheds and shedoftheyear


    Edit your Shed

    Need to add more photos or edit your text of your shed, then do it here.

    View all the other winners from 2007 onwards