What makes the Carriage Shed so unique are its very 'unexpected' contents:
East Coast Joint Stock 1st class sleeper no. 236 was built in York in 1896 (one of only four). It ran between King's cross and Scotland and was considered to be the creme de la creme of overnight travel.
It was decommissioned in 1925, the body removed to the east coast where it was used as accommodation on a caravan park for the next 40 years.
Since 1995 it has undergone extensive restoration by Michael Smith, a very dedicated artist/renovator who works to a very high standard.
There is a great deal of detail within the carriage including original handles, locks, roof vents, hooks. Other items have had to be replaced including the luggage racks - Michael can been seen working on one of the brackets in one of the photo's
The carriage has not been restored back to a sleeping carriage, in which the compartments were very small, but more of a luxury unit which now consists of 2 bedrooms, dining area, office and 2 sitting areas, so that it is more functional as accommodation. Those who view it are left staggered by the Victorian detail and craftsmanship - a recent German visitor, absorbed in the ambient atmosphere of the carriage, said he felt like Poirot!
After 66 years in the same family, during which time the carriage has been loved, cherished and greatly enjoyed, the present owners have decided the time has come to market 236 and hope future custodians will enjoy the experience as much as they have.